Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

September 30, 2021

Carol Lombardini President Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers 15301 Ventura Boulevard, Building E Sherman Oaks, CA 91403

Dear Ms. Lombardini:

As the elected representatives of constituents who make a living working behind-thescenes in motion picture and television production, we urge you to negotiate fair successor contracts with the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE). We support the principles of adequate sleep, meal breaks and living wages for all workers.

These workers have risked their health and safety for the last year, working through the COVID-19 pandemic to ensure that the motion picture and television production industry emerged intact. Production has now returned to pre-pandemic levels, due in no small part to the essential role these workers play in the creative process. The entertainment you jointly produce is helping to heal our nation.

The current contract under negotiation covers approximately 60,000 motion picture and television production workers across the country. Failure to reach an agreement would threaten not only the livelihoods of these workers, but also their family members who rely upon work in your industry, sending shockwaves throughout the U.S. economy and the industry.

The key issues in this negotiation, as we've come to understand them, are about worker dignity and basic human necessities. We are unified in our belief in the importance of living wages, sustainable benefits, and reasonable rest periods between shifts and during the workday.

Reportedly, IATSE members are mobilizing in preparation for a nationwide strike authorization vote on October 1, 2021, because of the announcement that AMPTP does not intend to make a counteroffer. A strike would dramatically disrupt the industry, the economy, and the communities we represent. We are hopeful that both sides can negotiate in good faith and reach a consensus agreement, which necessitates both parties continuing to participate in ongoing negotiations.

We ask that the AMPTP negotiate collaboratively with these workers to reach a fair contract and address the basic human needs that will allow them to do their jobs safely and with dignity.

Sincerely,

Alex Padilla

United States Senator

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

A

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Brown

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Grace I Napolitano

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Mamie Raskin Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Andv

Member of Congress

ed W. Iren

Ted Lieu Member of Congress

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

Tammy Baldwin United States Senator

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

<u>(Illan Lowenthal</u> Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

NU

Mondaire Jones Member of Congress

Charles E. Schumer United States Senator

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress

Eleano H. Noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Ben Ray Lujan United States Senator

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

unde J. S

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

am

Conor Lamb Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez

Member of Congress

Kweisi Mfume

Member of Congress

ardence / my

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Charlie Crist Member of Congress

Robert Menendez United States Senator

mes

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Chell P

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Angie Craig Member of Congress

Val Butler Demings Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

1. Kilde

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Tina Smith United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Karen Bass Member of Congress

Andy Kim Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress

Ted Deutch Member of Congress

Insie lee

Susie Lee Member of Congress

Peter Welch Member of Congress

Martin Heinrich United States Senator

Hansbure lane.

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Caroly B. Malore

Carolyn B. Maloney Member of Congress

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

l She

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Jack Reed United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Tom Malinowski Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Berne Water clema

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

CO To

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Jacky Rosen United States Senator

kana Hayco

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

le Nalle

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Troy Carter Member of Congress

,UNW-5

Raphael G. Warnock United States Senator

Ind N. Cullie B

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

aba Barbara Lee

Nanette Diaz Bar

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Frederica & Wilson Brende

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Brenda L. Lawrence Member of Congress

eword J. W

Edward J. Markey United States Senator

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Suble

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

parph d. marelle

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

Cyhthia Axne Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Tammy Direkwath

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

Marie Newman Member of Congress

20 Ron Wyden

Pete Aguilar Member of Congress

leda flail Las

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

United States Senator

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Madelune Sean

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

foe Neguse Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Hakeem S. Jeffries Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Chu Judy Chu

Member of Congress

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Jeffrey A. Merkley United States Senator

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

endin

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator

Kattell.Rie

Kathleen M. Rice Member of Congress

Mir

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

d. Pan Danny K. Davis

Danny K. Qavis Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell C Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Bobby L. Rush Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

P. Me

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

Össoff Jo

United States Senator

cc: International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees