

December 17, 2021

President Joseph R. Biden The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear Mr. President,

We write to urge you to pursue sanctions on the following Russian officials pursuant to the Global Magnitsky Human Rights Accountability Act and/or Executive Order 13818 (Blocking the Property of Persons Involved in Serious Human Rights Abuse or Corruption) for their corrupt efforts and abuse of human rights in the ongoing case to liquidate the Memorial Human Rights Group. Urgent action is necessary to prevent irreversible harm to human rights activists in Russia, including the leadership of Memorial Human Rights Group.

Founded in 1989 by Nobel laureate Andrei Sakharov, Memorial investigates and documents human rights abuses perpetrated by the Soviet regime, including politically-motivated execution, torture and imprisonment of millions of victims. As Putin's government has intensified his domestic repressions, Memorial became a lifeline to Russian activists, political prisoners and common citizens resolved to defend their human rights and civil liberties —through advocacy, legal support and training.

In retribution for these activities, in November 2021, the Russian Government set out to shut down Memorial alleging violations of the "foreign agent" and "supporting extremist organizations" laws. Decisive hearings will be held at the Supreme Court of Russia and at the Moscow City Court in mid-December 2021. Left unrefuted, these moves will eliminate the globally-revered institution that has become the last bastion for the Russian civil society and shut the lights off on human rights in Russia.

The United States has a moral duty to prevent this great injustice. Publicly sanctioning the Russian officials involved in the attack on Memorial and their enablers would be an effective way to support pro-democracy in forces in Russia and deter perpetrators. We ask you to consider sanctioning the following persons:

1. Kirill Alexandrovich **Balashov**, Head of the Main Directorate of the Ministry of Justice of Russia in Moscow

Chairman

- 2. Konstantin Anatolyevich Chuychenko, Minister of Justice of the Russian Federation
- 3. Tatyana Valerievna **Deniskina**, Head of the Department of Permitting Work, Control and Supervision in the Sphere of Mass Communications, Roskomnadzor
- 4. Mikhail Yurievich **Kazakov**, Judge of the Moscow City Court
- 5. Olga Aleksandrovna **Korotova**, Deputy Head of the Roskomnadzor Directorate for the Central Federal District
- 6. Igor Viktorovich **Krasnov**, Prosecutor General of the Russian Federation
- 7. Judge Andrey Vyacheslavovich Krivoruchko
- 8. Natalia **Kryukova**, Mathematics court consultant
- 9. Andrey Yuryevich **Lipov**, Head of Roskomnadzor
- 10. Judge Alexander Anatolievich Merkulov
- 11. Anna Mikhailovna Nazarova, Judge of the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation
- 12. Denis Gennadievich **Popov**, Prosecutor of the city of Moscow
- 13. Judge Maria Vladimirovna Sizintseva, Deputy Chairman of the Tverskoy Court
- 14. Dmitry Valerievich **Sokoushin**, Head of the Roskomnadzor Directorate for the Central Federal District
- 15. Judge Alexey Victorivich Stekliev
- 16. Alexander **Tarasov**, translator
- 17. V Natalia Mikhailovna **Venevidova**, Head of the Department for Non-Commercial Organizations of the Main Directorate of the Ministry of Justice of Russia in Moscow

As you prepare to follow through on the commitments made by global leaders at the Summit for Democracy last week to revitalize the global democracy agenda, we urge you to make this strong stance in defense of democracy in Russia.

Sincerely,

Benjamin L. Cardin

Ben Cardin

United States Senator Chairman, U.S. Helsinki Commission

Commission

Steve Cohen United States Representative Co-Chairman, U.S. Helsinki

Steve Cohen

Chairmai

Roger F. Wicker United States Senator

Ranking Member, U.S. Helsinki Commission

Helsinki Commission

Joe Wilson

United States Representative

Ranking Member, U.S.

Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator