United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

June 11, 2024

The Honorable Patty Murray Chair Senate Committee on Appropriations U.S. Capitol, S-128 Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Susan Collins Vice Chair Senate Committee on Appropriations U.S. Capitol, S-128 Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chair Murray and Vice Chair Collins,

Thank you for your ongoing work on Fiscal Year 2025 (FY25) appropriations bills. Each year the appropriations process presents opportunities for bipartisan support and funding for our most vital environmental programs. To help maintain regular order and ensure continued bipartisan support, we urge you to keep the FY25 appropriations bills free of any controversial, anti-environmental policy riders.

The inclusion of unrelated provisions has undermined the Senate's ability in previous years to pass funding measures. We must stay vigilant and keep senseless, harmful, environmental policy riders out of FY25 appropriations bills.

Sincerely,

Sheldon Whitehouse

United States Senator

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator

Jeffrey A. Merkley

United States Senator

Tim Kaine

United States Senator

Jack Reed

United States Senator

United States Senator

United States Senator

Maria Cantwell

United States Senator

Debbie Stabenow

United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Tina Smith

United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin

United States Senator

Thomas R. Carper

United States Senator

Raphael Warnock
United States Senator

Laphonza Butler
United States Senator

Kirsten Gillibrand
United States Senator

Edward J. Markey United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator Jacky Rosen
United States Senator

Peter Welch

United States Senator

Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

Ben Ray Lujan United States Senator Mazie K. Hirono
United States Senator

John Hickenlooper United States Senator

Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator

Ron Wyden
United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Martin Heinrich United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

United States Senator

John Fetterman United States Senator

Shund Brown Sherrod Brown

United States Senator

Mark R. Warner

United States Senator

United States Senator

United States Senator

United States Senator